NAIOP Arizona Chairman Andrew Cheney (left) congratulates longtime industry mentor Pete Bolton on receiving the Award of Excellence.

PHOENIX, ARIZ. (March 27, 2018) – The Arizona Chapter of NAIOP recognized the best in commercial real estate on March 22 at the annual Best of NAIOP event. Nearly 1,000 commercial real estate professionals attended the celebration which was held at the JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa.

Pete Bolton, who mentored generations of commercial real estate professionals and managed four companies, was honored with the Award of Excellence. After more than 30 years in the industry, Bolton launched Pete Bolton Company in 2017.

NAIOP Arizona’s Award of Excellence is awarded by the Arizona Chapter Board of Directors on an annual basis at the Best of NAIOP event. The recipient must be an individual who has made a significant, positive impact on the commercial real estate market in Arizona over a period of at least 15 years and has made direct volunteer contributions to NAIOP.

The Owner/Developer of the Year went to ViaWest Group, which also won Office Tenant Improvement of the Year (Less Than 30,000 SF) for Integrate at The Monroe. It was also a big night for Willmeng Construction, which won Firm of the Year. The Talk of the Town, presented by the Phoenix Business Journal, went to Biltmore Center. Willmeng Construction was the General Contractor and ViaWest Group was the Owner/Developer on this outstanding project.

In the brokerage awards, Cushman & Wakefield won Brokerage Firm of the Year. CBRE took home top honors for Emerging, Office, Healthcare, and Rookie brokers of the year. Cushman & Wakefield won Industrial and Investment brokers of the year. The complete list of winners can be found below.

The 2017 Best of NAIOP winners (alpha by award title):

Architect of the Year: Butler Design Group

Award of Excellence: Pete Bolton, The Pete Bolton Company

Brokerage Firm of the Year: Cushman & Wakefield

Developing Leader of the Year: Jenna Borcherding, JLL

Emerging Broker of the Year: Chris Marchildon, CBRE

Firm of the Year: Willmeng Construction, Inc.

General Contractor of the Year: Layton Construction

Healthcare Broker of the Year: Kate Morris & Vince Femiano, CBRE

Industrial Broker of the Year: Andy Markham, Mike Haenel & Will Strong, Cushman & Wakefield

Industrial Build-to-Suit Project of the Year: Conair

Industrial Tenant Improvement of the Year: Huhtamaki

Interior Architect of the Year: Phoenix Design One, Inc.

Investment Broker of the Year: Eric Wichterman, Cushman & Wakefield

Medical Office Project of the Year: Arizona Oncology

Office Broker of the Year: Kevin Calihan & Bryan Taute, CBRE

Office Build-to-Suit of the Year: Farmers Insurance

Office Tenant Improvement of the Year (Less Than 30,000 SF): Integrate at The Monroe

Office Tenant Improvement of the Year (More Than 30,000SF): Marina Heights Building 600

Owner/Developer of the Year: ViaWest Group

Redevelopment Project of the Year: The Quad

Retail Broker of the Year: Darren Pitts, Velocity Retail Group

Retail Project of the Year: Alliance Bank – Gilbert

Rookie Broker of the Year: Stephen Sonntag, CBRE

Spec Industrial Project of the Year: PV | 303 Spec Building A

Spec Office Project of the Year: The Grand at Papago Park Center – Building One

Sustainable Project of the Year: Liberty Center at Rio Salado – Building 3

Talk of the Town: Biltmore Center

Tenant Improvement Contractor of the Year: Layton Construction

Tenant Representative Broker of the Year: Pat Williams, JLL

Transaction of the Year: Marina Heights