PHOENIX, ARIZ. (March 8, 2023) – Three individuals from NAIOP Arizona have been selected as recipients of the annual NAIOP and Prologis Inclusion in CRE Scholarship for Women and Underrepresented Professionals.

They will be recognized at I.CON West: The Industrial Conference in Long Beach, California, this week. They will connect with industry mentors and will hear insights from industrial real estate leaders across North America.

Jade Nunez

The program, which recognized 15 total recipients this year, is designed to prepare a pipeline of diverse talent for development and operations positions in commercial real estate by connecting young professionals with mentors and advancing their industry knowledge.

The 2023 recipients from NAIOP Arizona are:

     Jade Nunes, Regional Manager of Business Development, Cuhaci Peterson: In her role at Cuhaci Peterson, Nunes supports the firm’s strategic growth initiatives in defined markets. She is passionate about building and fostering relationships and assists in acquiring new clients while addressing the needs and pain points of prospective clients. When not at work, Nunez can be found exploring the trails of her beloved home state of Arizona or catching a concert in Downtown Phoenix.

Emeka Ukaga

     Emeka Ukaga, Architectural + Structural Designer II, Michael Baker International: Ukaga is a civil/structural engineer and architectural designer based in Phoenix. With nearly a decade of experience spanning engineering, architectural design, and technology, Ukaga is humbled to be chosen for the NAIOP and Prologis Inclusion in CRE Scholarship and plans to utilize the education and support from NAIOP to continue to learn, network and contribute in a meaningful way to the field of commercial real estate development.

     Serena Wedlich, Vice President, CBRE: Wedlich specializes in industrial sales and leasing in the Southeast Valley, Scottsdale, and Sky Harbor Airport submarkets, representing developers, landlords, tenants, buyers and sellers. She is involved in all aspects of leasing and marketing the team’s properties. She was named 2022 Emerging Broker of the Year by NAIOP Arizona.

Serena Wedlich

“We are delighted that three Arizona Chapter members were among the elite group of 15 scholarship winners this year,” said NAIOP Arizona President and CEO Suzanne Kinney. “The national NAIOP and Prologis Inclusion in CRE scholarship aligns perfectly with our local efforts to promote inclusion throughout our chapter’s leadership and programming and to introduce young people of diverse backgrounds to rewarding careers in commercial real estate.”

“NAIOP is proud to recognize these standout professionals with scholarships and special mentorship opportunities through our program with Prologis,” said NAIOP President and CEO

Marc Selvitelli, CAE. “Promoting diverse talent is critical to the long-term success of the commercial real estate industry and remains one of NAIOP’s key priorities. We value the opportunity to support these professionals as they build their careers.”

As part of the program, each of the recipients will have the opportunity to earn the NAIOP Certificate of Advanced Study in Commercial Real Estate Development, delivered through courses in NAIOP’s The Center for Education, at no cost. This comprehensive program is built on core competencies critical to success in the development industry.

 About NAIOP

NAIOP, a 20,000+ member organization in North America provides unparalleled industry networking and education, and advocates for effective legislation on behalf of its members. It is the leading association for developers, owners and related professionals in office, industrial, retail, multifamily and mixed-use real estate. The Arizona Chapter represents over 1,000 members and is among the largest in the 50+ network.